Report Div 1 Feile Final

  • Apr 22,2024

Dublin Ladies Football Division 1 Feile Final 2024

Kilmacud Crokes 2-4 Clontarf 1-4

(After Extra-Time)

By Cóilín Duffy

Kilmacud Crokes were crowned Division 1 Dublin Ladies Football Feile champions for 2024 after an extra-time battle with Clontarf at a sunny Fingallians GAA Club in Swords on Sunday afternoon.

A penalty goal from Crokes keeper Leah Kitteringham in the early stages of extra-time paved the way for a hard earned victory for the Stillorgan outfit, in a decider befitting of its Division 1 showpiece status.

This game was an enthralling encounter throughout, buoyed on by the excellent support from both clubs, who really brought plenty of colour and positive vocal support.

Clontarf made all the early running in the opening stages of this game, and dominated the early exchanges.

With five minutes gone they had 1-1 to show for their efforts, with Sophie Healy on target with a point from play, before a Clara Woods free finished in the back of the Crokes net.

A minute later Kilmacud Crokes responded with a goal of their own to cut the gap to a point, with Sorcha Hargaden raising a green flag, in what was her sides first real foray into attack.

Despite both sides conceding early goals defences were on top for most of this game, with some excellent blocks, hassling and clearances.

Clontarf pushed into a two-point lead on nine minutes with a second Sophie Healy point, and while they continued to put Crokes under pressure, the Purple and Gold rearguard stood firm with Kitteringham marshalling well between the posts.

Clontarf extended their advantage before the break as a Clara Woods pointed free ensured a 1-3 to 1-0 interval lead.

The red and white clad side tried to extend this advantage on the restart, but were kept well at bay with some decisive blocks.

It wasn’t until the 12th minute of the half before the first score was registered, as Cliodhna McNamara kicked started a run of three unanswered Crokes points.

Indeed Clontarf were held scoreless in the second half of normal time, as Crokes impressed. Further scores from Aoife Donovan and Isobel Gilmore helping to force extra-time.

Crokes certainly had the upper hand at this stage and continued in this vein into extra-time, dominating possession on the resumption.

Gilmore fired wide before Aoife Donovan won a penalty, which Kitteringham calmly slotted home.

Clontarf were under constant pressure but defended well to hold Crokes scoreless over the remainder of the half, Crokes leading by 2-3 to 1-3 at half-time in extra-time.

Inside 90 seconds of the resumption Clontarf grabbed a point from Keelin Boyhan after a well executed fist passing move among a number of players.

Eibhlin McNamara responded with a point for Crokes and although Clontarf were in a constant search for scores, Crokes kept them at bay to hold out for a three-point win and silverware.

After the game the Emma Jones Memorial Cup was presented by Emma’s sister Isobel to Kilmacud Crokes captain Aoife Donovan.

Thug Aoife óraid brea go hiomlán as Gaeilge agus í ag tábhairt buíochas do gach duine a raibh bainteach le eagrú an Féile, bainisteoirí na foirne uilig, na hoifigigh, na reiteoirí agus na himreoirí a glac páirt. Maith í!

Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes: Sorcha Hargaden, Leah Kitteringham (1-0pen) 1-0 each; Cliodhna McNamara, Aoife Donovan, Isobel Gilmore, Eibhlin McNamara 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clontarf: Clara Woods (1-1f) 1-1; Sophie Healy 0-2, Keelin Boyhan 0-1.

KILMACUD CROKES: Leah Kitteringham; Eve McGovern, Eabha Egan, Mollie Walsh; Laura Russell, Aoibhin Gallagher, Keelin Dwyer; Cliodhna McNamara, Sophie Comerford; Aoife Donovan, Rachel Doyle, Sorcha Hargaden; Eibhlin McNamara, Annabelle Wyse, Éadaoin McClean. Rest of Panel: Cara Keane, Christina Lehane Pascaul, Julie Lyons, Kate McConnell, Alison Neville, Abbie O’Callaghan, Ellen Pluck, Mercedes Figueroa Calderón, Isobel Gilmore.

CLONTARF: Shona Murphy; Jorgia Homer, Claire O’Leary, Olivia Meikle; Genevieve Morrissey, Keelin Boyhan, Maya McGuckin; Rebecca O’Rourke, Keelin Ahearne; Kate Commins, Clara Woods, Caoimhe Keith; Willow Agnew, Roisin Hanratty, Sophie Healy. Rest of Panel: Aoibhinn O’Brien, Caelfind Hannigan, Lauren Rose Hamill, Molly O’Neill, Orla Kilfeather, Emily Scott, Maggie Foley, Sophia Byrne, Lucie O’Keefe, Ruth Feeney, Phoebe Lynch.

REFEREE: Peter Trimble (Trinity Gaels)