Report Div 5 Feile Final

  • Apr 22,2024

Dublin Ladies Gaelic Football Féile Division 5 Final 

Erins Isle 1-2 Whitehall Colmcille 0-1

Report by Rónán MacLochlainn 

Erin’s Isle delivered an exceptional defensive performance when defeating Whitehall Colmcille by four points in their Dublin LGFA Féile Division 5 decider at a sun-kissed O’Toole Park on Sunday morning. 

Scorers proved at a premium throughout in a tense encounter that went right down to the wire but it was Erin’s Isle’s ability to keep a clean sheet that proved the difference between these well-matched teams. 

The many stoppages ensured there wasn’t much fluidity to the match as Whitehall’s battling efforts were typified by the industrious efforts of Jo Malone at centerfield. 

Her battles with Emily Cahill and Alannah Glynn were typical of the game with neither team gaining a proper foothold despite Clodagh White opening the scoring for the Finglas outfit in the 5th minute. Both teams spurned chances as the half evolved before parity was restored in the 10th minute as Sophie Whelan converted an excellent free for Whitehall. 

The pivotal moment of the contest arrived two minutes before the break as a well-worked move down their left flank allowed Gemma Tarpey the opportunity to burst clear and plant an unstoppable shot inside the right-hand upright of Teagan O’Sullivan in the Colmcille goal.   

The second half resumed in a similar manner with some clever football delivered by both teams but the finishing failed to reward the approach play as we remained scoreless for the opening eight minutes of the half. 

Tarpey popped over a crucial free to extend her team’s advantage to four points and while Whitehall continued to pressure their opponents in the closing minutes, they struggled to make an impression with Alexandra Carey a rock at the heart of the Erin’s Isle defence.   

Scorers – Erin’s Isle: G Tarpey 1-1 (0-1f), C White 0-1. Whitehall Colmcille: S Whelan (f) 0-1. 

Erin’s Isle: A Hinchy; L McCarthy, G Kenny, A Byrne; W Prusik, A Carey, Z Buckley; E Cahill, A Glynn; G Wilson, S Behan, C White; L Duff, G Tarpey, M Donaghey. Subs: M Brazil, D Buckley, M Cummins, A Devoy, D Gorman, X Heenan-Sanchez, C Maher, W Malewicz, H Merlehan, C Radburn. 

Whitehall Colmcille: T O’Sullivan; S Canny, S Powderly, C Strahan; B Meany, E Daly, E Truman; J Malone, H Harbourne; A Murphy, I McDevitt, A Lanigan; N Redmond, S Whelan, E Swaine. Subs: A Dunphy, L Noble, I Noone Griffin, L Sheridan, S Lang. 

Referee: Reg Harbron (St Anne’s).