Mary O'Connor - Presidents Award Winner 2024

  • Feb 01,2024

Gradaim an Uachtaráin 2024

Earlier today, the GAA confirmed the recipients for Gradaim an Uachtaráin 2024. These prestigious annual awards, organised with the support of AIB and broadcast by TG4, are made by GAA President Larry McCarthy to acknowledge outstanding commitment and long service across the club and county network.

We here in Dublin LGFA are delighted to announce that the 2024 winner of the Presidents award for Ladies Football is Mary O'Connor, Dublin County Secretary.

Everyone in Dublin is fully aware of Mary's commitment, dedication and service that she has given to our association especially over the last ten years in her role as County Secretary.  We could not think of a more worthy recipient of this prestigious award, congratulations Mary!

'Mary’s love of Ladies Gaelic Football began over 20 years ago in St. Brigid’s GAA Club in Dublin, when she volunteered to coach her daughter’s football team, with no prior experience, to ensure her daughter and many more girls had the opportunity to play. Since then, her love and involvement with Ladies Gaelic Football has blossomed.

Mary has filled a plethora of extremely significant positions within the world of Ladies Gaelic Football. From being put forward as the Dublin LGFA County Board Delegate for St Brigid’s in 2007, to being elected as Dublin County Secretary in 2013, a position she still holds to this day, Mary has overseen the huge growth of Ladies football within the capital with membership figures for the Association increasing by approximately 21,000 in this 10-year period.'

The GAA President’s Awards (Gradaim an Uachtaráin 2024) will be broadcast this Friday (Feb 2nd) on TG4 at 7.30pm.

Picture: Mary O'Connor presenting the Go Ahead Junior cup to St Brigid's captain, Elaine Kelly (2022) credit Maurice Grehan.