Countdown to Leinster Final

  • May 23,2023

Countdown continues to 2023 TG4 Leinster Senior Final. 

Ahead of this Sundays TG4 Leinster Senior final we decided to take a closer look at the composition of the Dublin 2023 senior championship panel. The side is captained by Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire) with Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna) the team vice-captain.

Dublin squad: Abby Shiels, Annabelle Timothy, Aoife Kane, Caitlin Coffey, Caoimhe O’Connor, Carla Rowe, Chloe Darby, Dannielle Lawless, Eilish O’Dowd, Ellen Gribben, Emer Ní Eafa, Emma Deeley, Emma Strappe, Faye O’Connell Bell, Grainne Fitzsimons, Hannah Tyrrell, Hannah Leahy, Jennifer Dunne, Jodi Egan, Julie Vaughan, Kate Sullivan, Kerri Owens, Lauren Magee, Leah Caffrey, Martha Byrne, Niamh Crowley, Niamh Donlon, Niamh Hetherton, Orla Martin, Orlagh Nolan, Rachel Brennan, Sinead Daly, Sinead Wylde, Tammy Quinn Corbally.

The thirty-four-player Dublin championship squad comprises of representatives from nineteen clubs while the average age of the squad is 23.08 years. Amongst the panel there are 21 students, 5 teachers and 3 accountants. Other occupations include intensive care nurse, dietitian, sports scientist, physical movement coach and a business owner!

2021 Senior club championship runners up Na Fianna have the highest number of representatives with five players followed closely by 2020 Intermediate club champions, Cuala with four.

Club representation breakdown:

Na Fianna 5, Cuala 4, Lucan Sarsfields 2, Fingallians 2, Kilmacud Crokes 2, Clontarf 2, Castleknock 2, St Sylvesters 2, Foxrock Cabinteely 2, Thomas Davis 2, Ballinteer St Johns, St Brigids, Clann Mhuire, St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh, Parnells, St Finians Swords, St Peregrines, Ballyboden St Endas, Scoil Ui Chonaill 1 each.

Martha Byrne and Carla Rowe lead the way with the most Leinster senior medals won with eight a piece followed closely by Leah Caffrey with seven. In total the 2023 squad hold 67 Leinster SFC winners medals while eleven of this Sundays match day panel will be experiencing their first senior Leinster final.

Leinster winning medal breakdown:

Martha Byrne 8, Carla Rowe 8, Leah Caffrey 7, Lauren Magee 6, Aoife Kane 5, Emer Ní Eafa 5, Jennifer Dunne 4, Orlagh Nolan 3, Caoimhe O’Connor 3, Kate Sullivan 3, Niamh Hetherton 3, Abby Shiels 2, Ellen Gribben, Hannah Tyrrell, Dannielle Lawless, Jodi Egan, Sinead Wylde, Tammy Quinn Corbally, Rachel Brennan 1 each.

Dublin won their first Leinster title back in 2002 since then they have been crowned provincial champions on fifteen other occasions. The competition did not take place in 2020 owing to the pandemic while in 2021 Dublin was the solitary county graded senior within Leinster.

Leinster senior championships won by Dublin 2002- 2005, 2008-2010, 2012-2019, 2022.   

The current panel hold 35 senior All Ireland medals between them while five players have been awarded All Stars. Carla Rowe (3), Leah Caffrey (3), Lauren Magee (1), Orlagh Nolan (1), Hannah Tyrrell (1).

Dublin manager Mick Bohan was the team coach when Dublin captured their first Leinster title back in 2002, the following year he managed the side to their second provincial senior crown.

Returning to the senior County set up in December 2016, Mick has since lead Dublin to 4 additional Leinster senior titles making him the most successful Dublin manager at provincial level with 6 titles to his credit.

This Sunday Dublin take on Meath in the 2023 provincial final. The action gets underway in Laois Hire O’Moore Park, Portlaoise at 4:15pm. Tickets are now on sale from click on this link supporters unable to make the trip to Portlaoise can watch the live stream of the game on the Ladies LGFA Inplayer portal (fee €5).

Dublin match day squad to face Meath will be announced at lunchtime this coming Friday.