TEAM news Dublin v Meath Rd 1 NFL

  • Jan 20,2023

LIDL NFL Division 1 Rd 1

Sat January 21st, 5.15pm

Venue: DCU, St Clare’s

Dublin vs Meath

Mick Bohan who begins his 8th league campaign as Dublin boss has announced his first team selection of 2023 for this Saturdays opening round fixture versus reigning NFL champions, Meath.

There are two senior debutants included in the Dublin starting 15. Niamh Crowley fresh out of minor ranks is named at corner back while Eilis O’Dowd a Leitrim native will don the sky-blue jersey for the first time while partnering Jennifer Dunne at midfield.

There are no less than eleven senior newcomers listed amongst the Dublin substitutes which also includes seasoned footballers, Abby Shiels, Kate Sullivan and Siobhan Woods. Following on from their impressive performances during the club championships Dannielle Lawless, Shannon Richardson, and Emma Strappe have earned an Inter County call up.

This new look Dublin team will be captained for this game by four times All Ireland winner, Carla Rowe.

Newly appointed Meath boss, David Nelson has named a Meath team which does not feature superstars Vicki Wall, Emma Duggan or Orlagh Lally. Similar to Dublin, Meath have also given several minors from last season an opportunity to showcase their talents on the big stage including Ciara Smyth, Robyn Murray, Orlaith Mallon and Amy O’Leary.

Kevin Phelan from Laois will get the action underway at 5.15pm in DCU. Watch the game live on TG4 from 5.00pm. Tickets remain on sale from

Dublin vs Meath: 1 Emer Ni Éafa (Fingallians), 2 Niamh Crowley (Fingallians), 3 Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines), 4 Jessica Tobin (Cuala), 5 Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna), 6 Dannielle Lawless (St Sylvesters), 7 Martha Byrne (Cuala), 8 Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), 9 Eilis O’Dowd (Na Fianna), 10 Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns), 11 Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire), 12 Ellen Gribben (St Brigids), 13 Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), 14 Hannah Tyrrell (Na Fianna), 15 Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely).

Dublin panel: Abby Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields), Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters), Annabelle Timothy (St Finians Swords), Emma Deeley (Na Fianna), Chloe Darby (Parnells), Roisin Baker (Na Fianna), Kerri Owens (Thomas Davis), Shannon Richardson (O’Dwyers), Siobhan Woods (Raheny), Julie Vaughan (Ballyboden St Endas), Emma Strappe (Castleknock), Hannah Howard (Fingallians), Tammy Quinn Corbally (Thomas Davis), Grainne Fitzsimons (Cuala), Emma O’Malley (Round Towers Clondalkin).

Meath v Dublin: 1 Monica McGuirk, 2 Shauna Ennis, 3 Mary Kate Lynch, 4 Katie Newe, 5 Niamh Gallogly, 6 Aoibhín Cleary, 7 Máire O’Shaughnessy, 8 Aoife Minogue, 9 Aisling McCabe, 10 Aine Sheridan, 11 Aoife Farrell, 12 Ailbhe Leahy, 13 Megan Thynne, 14 Meadhbh Byrne, 15 Ciara Smyth.

Meath panel: Robyn Murray, Olivia Callan, Orlaith Mallon, Stacey Grimes, Niamh O’Sullivan, Shelly Melia, Sarah Wall, Olivia Gore, Amy O’Leary, Ali Sherlock.