Dublin's Proud All-Star History

  • Nov 10,2021

Dublin’s proud All-Star History -

The 2021 LGFA All-Star awards will be announced this coming Saturday night. TG4 All-Ireland runners Up and LIDL NFL division one winners, Dublin have nine players nominated.

Ciara Trant (St Brigid’s), Martha Byrne (Cuala), Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna), Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns), Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), Hannah Tyrell (Na Fianna), Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire) and Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps).

Of the nine Dublin players nominated this year four are vying for their first bronze statuette - Martha Byrne, Orlagh Nolan, Hannah Tyrrell and Jennifer Dunne.

In 2020 owing to the Covid-19 pandemic no All-Star awards ceremony took place. LGFA did reveal their ‘Senior Team of the Championship’. The then, four in a row All-Ireland winners Dublin had six players named on the team. Martha Byrne (Cuala), Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely), Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire), Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps) and Noelle Healy (St Brigid’s).

The All Stars awards where first presented back in 1981 seven years after the founding of the Association in Hayes Hotel, Thurles in 1974.

The All-Star banquet as we know today commenced back in 2003 up until then players received their awards after a football match which was normally played between the reigning All Ireland champions and an All-Star selection.

Since the inception of the All-Stars awards 32 Dublin players have received statuettes with the first being won back in 1983 by Kathleen Kennedy who was honoured as All Star goalkeeper, she followed this up with a second award for the same position in 1984. 

Sinead Aherne and Sinead Goldrick are joint leaders on the Dublin All-Star honours list with seven awards each. Lyndsey Davey is next up with five All-Star awards. The Skerries Harps sharpshooter may add a sixth award to her tally this Saturday night following another outstanding season in sky blue. Also looking to add to their awards tally are Ciara Trant (2), Leah Caffrey (2), Lauren Magee (1) and Carla Rowe (3).

This year, no Dublin player is in the running for the coveted ‘Senior Players Player of the year Award’ with previous winners being Noelle Healy (2017), Sinead Aherne (2018) and Siobhan McGrath (2019).

Stay tuned to the LGFA social media channels on Saturday night for the LIVE announcements of the 2021 Award winners. Wishing all of our nine nominees the very best of luck.

Dublin All Star Award Roll of Honour: 

Sinead Aherne (St Sylvester’s) 2009, 2010, 2011, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018

Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely) 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019

Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps) 2005, 2014, 2015, 2018, 2019

Noelle Healy (St Brigid’s) 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018

Siobhan McGrath (Thomas Davis) 2009, 2010, 2018, 2019

Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire) 2015, 2016, 2019

Ciara Trant (St Brigid’s) 2017, 2018

Cliodhna O’Connor (Naomh Mearnog) 2004, 2009

Gemma Fay (Ballyboden St Endas) 2005, 2010

Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna) 2016, 2017

Rachel Ruddy (Ballyboden St Endas) 2010, 2017

Kathleen Kennedy (Rathcoole / UCD) 1983, 1984

Julie Kavanagh (St Monica’s) 1991

Denise Smith (Erins Isle) 1993

Louise Kelly (Ballyboden St Endas) 2001

Sile Nic Coitir (Ballyboden St Endas) 2002

Suzanne Hughes (Ballyboden St Endas) 2002

Angie McNally (Ballinteer St Johns) 2003

Maria Kavanagh (Round Towers Clondalkin) 2003

Martina Farrell (Ballyboden St Endas) 2003

Bernie Finlay (Na Fianna) 2004

Louise Keegan (St Brigid’s) 2004

Mary Nevin (Na Fianna) 2004

Amy McGuinness (Fingallians) 2010

Denise Masterson (Naomh Mearnog) 2010

Elaine Kelly (St Brigid’s) 2011

Sinead Finnegan (Fingallians) 2015

Nicole Owens (St Sylvester’s) 2017

Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes) 2018

Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely) 2019

Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis) 2019

Niamh McEvoy (St Sylvester’s) 2019