Dublin name team v Galway

  • Feb 21,2020

LIDL NFL Div 1 Rd 4

Sunday February 23rd

Dublin v Galway

Dublin boss Mick Bohan, has made 2 changes to the Dublin starting 15 for this Sunday’s NFL meeting with Galway in what will be a repeat of the 2019 All Ireland final. Team selection at the moment for the Dublin management must be quite challenging as the Dubs injury list continues to lengthen.

New additions to the injury list are Lauren Magee (shoulder), Oonagh Whyte (concussion) and Kate Sullivan (leg) all three players picked up knocks in the Croke Park encounter with Cork back on February 8th.

Clontarf’s, Niamh Hetherton starts in midfield alongside Jennifer Dunne replacing the aforementioned Magee. The Kilmacud Crokes midfielder has since undergone surgery on her shoulder which will rule her out of selection for 6-8 weeks.  Dublin’s second change comes in the half forward line where Laura Kane replaces Kate Sullivan. 

On a positive note it is great to see Siobhan Killeen named amongst the Dublin replacements. Killeen last May ripped the hamstring off the bone in a completely innocuous situation in training.  The former soccer international has worked extremely hard to get back to competitive football and her return is a welcome sight as Dublin are still without the services of a number of key players such as Sinead Aherne, Nicole Owens, Noelle Healy, Siobhan McGrath, Niamh McEvoy and Sinead Goldrick.

Dublin have served up some mixed results to date in the league chalking up a draw with Tipperary, a win over Mayo and a loss to Cork. Meanwhile, Galway have two wins from three having defeated both Donegal and Westmeath following their shock 1st round loss to newly promoted Waterford.

Dublin v Cork: 1 Ciara Trant (St Brigids), 2 Eabha Rutledge (Kilmacud Crokes, 3 Muireann Ni Scanaill (Fingallians), 4 Martha Byrne (Cuala), 5 Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna), 6 Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely), 7 Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns), 8 Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), 9 Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf) 10 Niamh Sweeney (Ballinteer St Johns), 11 Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire), 12 Laura Kane (Kilmacud Crokes) 13 Hannah O’Neill (Foxrock Cabinteely), 14 Siobhan Woods (Raheny), 15 Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf)

Dublin replacements: Karen O’Connell (Na Fianna), Ciara McGuigan (Thomas Davis), Laura McGinley (Naomh Barrog), Lucy Collins (Na Fianna), Rebecca McDonnell (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Sarah McCaffrey (Clontarf), Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps), Siobhan Killeen (Clontarf), Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely), Grace Kos (Kilmacud Crokes), Cassie Sultan (Kilmacud Crokes)