Minor team named for clash with Meath

  • Feb 13,2020

Leinster Minor Championship

Friday 14th February, 7:30pm

Dublin v Meath

Venue: Dunganny Co Meath 

Dublin manager, Anthony Cooke has announced his starting 15 for this Friday night’s opening fixture of the Leinster minor championship. Dublin will be hoping for a stellar performance away from home versus a Meath side that are being tipped to go far in this competition by many within the LGFA.

Meath are reining Leinster champions at this level having finally broken Dublin’s 8 year stranglehold on this competition when they captured the minor title last year with a 3-13 to 3-11 victory over Kildare in the provincial final. However the Royal counties aspirations of reaching the minor “A” All Ireland final for the first time in their history was dashed following their 3-12 to 3-16 defeat at the hands of Ulster champions, Monaghan.

Last season’s senior club championship semi-finalists Thomas Davis are well represented on the Dublin panel with Tammy Quinn (Captain), Lauren Young and Kerri Owens all handed starting positions. Up front, Dublin will be looking for Caitlin Coffey and Amy O’Brien to both hit top gear while Abby Shiels in goal has shown great form between the posts the last number of years and is definitely one to watch for the future.  

An indication of the tremendous work going on at grass level throughout the County is the fact that 20 clubs are represented on this year’s minor panel with a number of players due to make their Inter County debut on Friday night.  

The venue for this game was switched on Thursday morning from Dunshaughlin GAA club to the 3G pitch in the Meath centre of excellence located in Dunganny owing to the recent inclement weather and the predicted forecast for more wet and windy conditions as storm Dennis approaches Ireland.

Louth official, Paul Burke is the man in charge of this latest battle between these two old Leinster rivals, the action gets underway at 7.30pm

Dublin 1. Abby Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields), 2. Ava Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely), 3. Tammy Quinn (Thomas Davis), 4. Ellie Hynes (Clontarf), 5. Hannah Howard (Fingallians), 6. Lauren Young (Thomas Davis), 7. Julie Grimes (Naomh Olaf), 8. Kerri Owens (Thomas Davis), 9. Jessica O’Regan (Clontarf), 10. Ciara McCarthy (Fingallians), 11. Caitlin Coffey (Castleknock), 12. Ella Higgins (Kilmacud Crokes), 13. Elyse Jamison Murphy (Na Fianna), 14. Sophie McGlynn (St Sylvesters), 15. Amy O'Brien (Garristown)

Dublin replacements: Caithlin Staunton Douch (Thomas Davis), Amy Wall (Na Fianna), Grace Codd (Round Towers Lusk), Shauna Buckley (Kilmacud Crokes), Keeva Kenehan (Beann Eadair ), Karla Conway (Na Fianna), Ellen Gribben (St Brigids), Aoife Coffey (St Brigids), Leona Barry (Fingallians), Niamh Cummins (Trinity Gaels), Grace Dent (Ballinteer St. Johns), Teagan Comber (St Finians, Swords), Jenny O'Hara Doyle (Naomh Barrog), Alana Kelly (O'Dwyers), Sophie Brennan (Naomh Mearnog) additional panel members Sadhbh McCann (St Sylvester’s), Jennifer Gleeson (Na Fianna), Aoife Whelan (Lucan Sarsfields), Aoife Deegan (St Peregrines), Aoife Coppinger (St Peregrines), Katie O’Sullivan (St Sylvesters)