Team News Senior Club All Ireland Semi Final

  • Nov 08,2019
Sunday November 10th

All-Ireland Ladies Senior Club Championship semi-finals: 
Kilkerrin-Clonberne (Galway) v Foxrock-Cabinteely (Dublin); Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence, 2pm 
Sunday’s semi-final pits two teams who harbour genuine hopes of getting their hands on the Dolores Tyrrell Memorial Cup for the very first time. 

Kilkerrin-Clonberne will hope that it’s fourth time lucky as they aim for a Final appearance, following previous semi-final losses in 2014 (Termon – Donegal), 2015 (Mourneabbey – Cork) and 2018 (Mourneabbey). 

The Galway and Connacht champions will start as many people’s favourites to advance, as they pit their wits against Foxrock-Cabinteely from Dublin. 

The Leinster champions have lost two of the last three All-Ireland Finals, and will be determined to give themselves another shot at national silverware. 

They’ll have to do it without Dublin star Sinéad Goldrick, however, as the TG4 Senior Players’ Player of the Year nominee is starting a new adventure with the Melbourne Football Club AFL Women’s team. 

Goldrick has been struggling with injury in recent times in any case, and was an absentee for the Leinster Final victory over Laois opponents Sarsfields. 

Niamh Collins, another TG4 All-Ireland winner with Dublin, didn’t start that game either, but she’s named at centre half back for Sunday’s fixture.   

The Kilkerrin-Clonberne team is a rich mixture of youth and experience, with the Ward twin sisters, Nicola and Louise, set to feature heavily. 

Both are nominated for 2019 TG4 All Star awards, while Louise is also in the running for the coveted Senior Players’ Player of the Year award. 

Annette Clarke is Galway’s 2004 All-Ireland winning captain who’s still going strong, while goalkeeper Lisa Murphy is another All Star nominee. 

The Kilkerrin-Clonberne team also contains the Noone sisters, Hannah, Lynsey and Eva, who have been hoovering up titles for Galway in the underage ranks. 

Olivia Divilly is also nominated for an All Star on the back of an excellent year for Galway, and she’s joined in the starting line-up by sister Siobhan.
Kilkerrin-Clonberne: L Murphy; S Gormally, A Costello, S Fahy; C Dunleavy, N Ward, H Noone; A Clarke, L Ward; L Noone, S Divilly, C Miskell; E Noone, A Morrissey, O Divilly.
Foxrock-Cabinteely: Aisling Tarpey; Aedin Murray, Sarah Quinn, Emma McDonagh; Lorna Fusciardi, Niamh Collins, Ciara O’Riordan; Tarah O’Sullivan, Laura Nerney; Fiona Claffey, Amy Connolly, Hannah O’Neill; Amy Ring, Katie McNally, Jodi Egan.