Dubs - Time to Rewite the History Books!

  • Aug 03,2011

As Dublin look forward to Saturday’s all important senior championship qualifier clash with Galway a staggering static has emerged from the history books – Galway have never lost to Dublin in senior championship!

The Tribeswoman has had the upper hand on the Dubs since the Westerners first obtained senior status back in 2003. Remarkably the two sides first meet in senior championship back in the 2004 All Ireland final.

Dublin who had lost the previous final to Mayo following a last gasp Diane O’Hora goal (back then the square ball rule was still making headlines) were red hot favourites to take the 2004 title. In a windswept rainy Croke Park Dublin had shown great form in the opening 30 minutes and appeared to have Galway on the racks but it was the women from the west who gave the all-important second half display to run out worthy winners on a score line of 3-09 to 0-11.

The two sides met again the following year this time in the All-Ireland semi-final which was played on the 10th of September in O ‘Moore Park Portlaoise.  Once again Galway would have the edge on the Dubs and eased passed the Metropolitans by 2-10 to 0-07, Dublin were now a team in rebuilding mould and wouldnt feature in the business end of the championship until 2009.

Dublin and Galway have not meet in the championship since that faithful day back in 2005 back then Galway were reigning All Ireland champions although they were soon to be displaced by a mighty Cork side who would go onto win five in a row of senior All Ireland titles.

This coming Saturday the roles are reversed Dublin come to Birr as Champions intent on not letting go of their All Ireland crown along with the added incentive of wanting to reverse the history books and book their place in the 2011 quarter finals.

Ironically when one exams the team lists from both Counties last championship fare Dublin and Galway feature nine players apiece who played in the 2005 All Ireland semi-final while Dublin full forward on the day Angie McNally is now a Dublin selector.

Dublin panel v Galway (2005):
1 Clíodhna O’Connor (Naomh Mearnóg) 2 Louise Kidd (Naomh Peregrine) 3 Avril Cluxton (Parnells) 4 Louise Keegan (St Brigids) 5 Joanne O’Sullivan (Ballyboden St Endas) 6 Denise Masterson (Ballymun
Kickhams) 7 Gemma Fay (Ballyboden St Endas) 8 Niamh McEvoy (Parnells)
Captain 9 Martina Farrell (Ballyboden St Endas) 10 Niamh Hurley (Fingallians) 11 Bernie Finlay (Na Fianna) 12 Lyndsay Davey (Skerries Harps) 13 Sinéad Aherne (St Sylvester’s) 14 Angie McNally (Ballinteer St Johns)  15 Louise Kelly (Ballyboden St Endas) 16 Emma Redmond (Round Towers Clondalkin) 17 Rachel Barrett (Na Fianna) 18 Noelle Comyn (Ballyboden St Endas) 19 Fiona Corcoran (Ballyboden St Endas) 20 Sorcha Farrelly (Ballyboden St Endas) 21 Karen Hopkins (Ballyboden St Endas) 22 Maria Kavanagh (Round Towers Clondalkin) 23 Amy McGuinness (Fingallians) 24 Mary Nevin (Na Fianna) 25 Catherine Roche (Round Towers Clondalkin) 26 Siobhan Roy (Skerries Harps).

Galway panel v Dublin (2005):
1. Una Carroll (Corofin) 2. Michelle Glynn (Corofin) 3. Ruth Stephens (Corofin) 4. Emer Flaherty (Tuam / Cortoon) 5. Marie O’Connell (St. Mary’s) 6. Aoibheann Daly (Milltown) 7. Rebecca McPhilbin (St. Brendan’s) 8. Annette Clarke (Kilkerrin-Clonberne) 9. Patricia Gleeson (Corofin) 10. Edel Concannon (Tuam / Cortoon) 11. Niamh Duggan (Annaghdown) 12. Philomena Ní Fhlatharta (Leitirmóir) 13. Geraldine Conneely (Dunmore McHale’s) 14. Niamh Fahey (Killanin) 15. Lorna Joyce (Clonbur) 16. Johanna Connolly (St. Eunan’s, Letterkenny) 17. Tina Hughes (Corofin) 18. Fiona Wynne (Annaghdown) 19. Claire Molloy (St. Michael’s) 20. Anne-Marie McDonough (Salthill) 21. Deirdre Fallon (Dunmore McHale’s) 22. Emma O’Malley (St. Brendan’s) 23. Nicola Fahy (St. Brendan’s) 24. Lisa Coohill (Gráinne Mhaol’s) 25. Helen Carroll (Corofin) 26. Helen McHugh (Caherlistrane) 27. Cora Joyce (St. Mary’s) 28. Catriona Cormican (St. Gabriel’s) 29. Michelle Delaney (St. Brendan’s) 30. Niamh Lohan (St. Brendan’s).

Dublin v Galway the 2011 chapter will take place this coming Saturday the 6th of August in Birr Co Offaly throw in time 4:15pm.

Below images from that 2005 encounter: