Dublin Minors - All Ireland Champions 2008

  • Aug 04,2008

Dublin have claimed the TG4 All-Ireland minor ladies football crown for the first time with a comprehensive 2-18 to 1-4 victory against Tyrone in todays final at Breffni Park in Cavan.

Congratulations to everyone involved.


Match Report from www.rte.ie

Dublin 2-18 Tyrone 1-04
Monday, 4 August 2008 17:10
Dublin claimed the TG4 All-Ireland Minor Ladies Football crown for the very first time with a comprehensive 2-18 to 1-04 victory against Tyrone in Mondays final at Kingspan Breffni Park, Cavan.

The Junior Jackies, who led by 1-07 to 1-04 at half-time, ran riot after the break and stormed to a 17-point victory with a powerful second half performance.

Dublin, beaten finalists last year, were too good for the Red Hands, who were held scoreless in the second half.

Dynamic centre-forward Noelle Healy scored 2-03 and full-forward Natalia Hyland weighed in with 0-07 as Dublin repeated last years quarter-final victory against their Ulster opponents.

Sinéad Goldrick received the TG4 Player of the Match award for a storming display at centre half-back.

Dublin started the game much the better and led by 1-01 to 0-00 early on as Healy scored a fine individual goal after seven minutes, her shot carrying too much power for Tyrone goalkeeper Sinéad McVey.

Rebecca McCrory hit back immediately with a goal for Tyrone after she neatly rounded Dubs goalkeeper Hannah Tyrell but Dublin hit back with three unanswered points to move 1-04 to 1-00 clear.

Tyrones Niamh Hughes was denied by a smart Tyrell save in the 16th minute but a run of three points without reply brought Tyrone back to within a point of the winners, 1-05 to 1-04.

However, Kerri Grahams 26th-minute point would prove to be Tyrones last score of the game and after half-time, it was exhibition stuff from a hugely-impressive Dublin outfit.

Leading by 1-13 to 1-04 midway through the second half, Noelle Healys well-taken second goal killed the game and as Dublin emptied the bench, five more points followed, including scores from substitutes Amy Ring and Sinéad Cumiskey.

Dublin had scoring contributions from nine different players, including all six starting forwards, while full-back Karen McGlynn performed an effective marking job on Tyrones normally prolific senior player Clodagh Poyntz.

Dublin: H Tyrell; A Burke, K McGlynn, R Nugent; S OMahony, S
Goldrick, S Barrett; N McEvoy, A Connolly; F Hudson, N Healy; A
Cushen; D Geraghty, N Hyland, S Cullen.
Subs: A Ring for Geraghty, V Browne for Cullen, O Egan for Burke, S Cumiskey for Hudson, E Farrell for Healy.

Tyrone: S McVey; B Quinn, R Rafferty, C Monaghan; N McAnulla, R
Molloy, A McShane; E Conlon, S Quinn; E Hegarty, A OKane, Niamh Hughes; K Graham, C Poyntz, R McCrory.

Subs: Natalie Hughes for Hegarty, S McCann for Graham, EJ Gervin for Niamh Hughes, S Patterson for Monaghan.
Dublin scorers: N Healy 2-03, N Hyland 0-07 (3f), S Cullen 0-02, S
Goldrick, F Hudson, A Cushen, D Geraghty, A Ring & S Cumiskey 0-01 each.
Tyrone scorers: R McCrory 1-00, A OKane, N Hughes, K Graham & C Poyntz (f) 0-01 each.


Hannah Tyrell (Round Towers Clondalkin), Rachel Nugent (Ballyboden St Endas), Aoife Burke (St Judes), Karen McGlynn (Skerries Harps) (0-1), Shona Barrett (St. Brigids), Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock/Cabinteely), Sinead O’ Mahony (Skerries Harps), Niamh McEvoy (St. Sylvesters), Amy Connolly (Foxrock Cabinteely), Fiona Hudson (Fingallians), Natalia Hyland (Ballyboden St. Endas), Noelle Healy (St Brigids), Arlene Cushen (Na Fianna), Sinead Cullen (Skerries Harps), Deborah Geraghty (Castleknock)ciara Ryan (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Amy Ring (Foxrock/Cabinteely) Vicky Browne (Fingallians), Orlagh Egan (Na Fianna), Enya Farrell (St. Brigids), Sinead Cumiskey (Parnells)PhillippA Green (Kilmacud Crokes), Rachael Byrne (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Kirstie McArdle (Foxrock/Cabinteely),  Shauna Gorman (Ratoath),  Niamh Keane (Clann Mhuire),  Alyssa Quinn (Kilmacud Crokes)

Shona Barrett With Cup after Minor All Ireland Win