Dublin Minor Team announced for SF clash with Cork

  • Jun 28,2018

Minor All Ireland Semi-Final

Saturday June 30th, 3.15pm

Venue: MacDonagh Park, Nenagh Co Tipperary

Dublin v Cork

Dublin name team for Minor semi-final clash with Cork ….

This Saturday June 30th, Dublin will travel south to Nenagh, home of Eire Óg GAA club, for their eagerly awaited semi-final meeting with reigning minor All Ireland champions, Cork.

Under the guidance of former County GAA Star John Cleary, Cork has enjoyed tremendous success at this grade by winning the last three consecutive All Ireland finals. Since the inaugural minor final which was played back in 1980 no County has ever achieved a “four in a row” a feat of this significance would not be lost on the rebel County and will surely give them an added incentive coming into Saturday’s contest.

Standing in the Rebels way are a Dublin side who back in April created their own little piece of history by winning their Counties eight Leinster minor title in a row. Dublin achieved this with an impressive second half performance over a strong Meath team.  FT Score Dublin 2-13 Meath 2-05

Cork qualified for the semi-final following a one point Munster final victory over a much applauded Kerry team who having won the previous two U16 All Ireland finals where many pundits favourites to add a minor title to their growing list of honours. FT Score Cork 1-12 Kerry 2-08

Dublin and Cork last met in the minor championship back in 2016 when the Rebels overcame their Leinster rivals in the All- Ireland final played in Pearse Park (Longford) on the score line of 4-09 (21) to 2-17 (23). Current Cork senior scoring sensation Saoirse Noonan was the game’s top scorer with 2-05 as she claimed the first of her two All -Ireland minor medals.

Bobby McNulty, Dublin minor manager has made just one change to his starting 15 from that which lined out versus Meath in the provincial final. Jodi Egan from Foxrock Cabinteely comes into the side at midfield alongside Dublin Captain, Sarah Fagan in place of Lucan Sarsfield’s Laura Quinn.

Dublin LGFA will have LIVE score updates from Saturday’s All Ireland semi-final available via their Twitter page @dublinladiesg

Dublin: Aine Ryan (Naomh Barrog), Laura Dempsey (Fingallians), Eimear Loughlin (Cuala), Faye O’Connell Bell (Foxrock Cabinteely), Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Erin Healy (O’Dwyers), Lisa Davies (Foxrock Cabinteely), Sarah Fagan (Clontarf), Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely), Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf), Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines), Grainne O’Driscoll (Cuala), Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters), Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), Laura Carthy (St Maurs).

Subs: Chanice Dolan (Na Fianna), Alanah Coughlan (Parnells), Maria O’Dea (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Katelyn O’Brien (Ballyboughal), Laura Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields), Eimear Griffen (Naomh Mearnog), Emma McCormack (Fingallians), Lucy Murphy (Naomh Barrog), Nicole Mitchell (Erins Isle), Rachel Hartnett (Cuala), Ellie McAleer (Na Fianna), Aoife Maher (Naomh Olaf), Emma Hughes (Foxrock Cabinteely), Sarah O’Leary (Foxrock Cabinteely). Additional panel members: Jess Keating (St Jude’s), Jessica Kelly (St Maurs), Ciara Holland (Naomh Mearnog), Hannah Murphy (Ballyboden St Endas), Sinead O’Donoghue (Kilmacud Crokes), Katie McCabe (O’Dwyers), Karen O’Connell (Na Fianna)