TG4 SFC Dublin v Waterford, 10 years on from last encounter

  • Aug 01,2017

TG4 All Ireland Quarter Final 2017

Dublin v Waterford

Saturday August 12th, 4:45pm

Venue: Awaiting confirmation


Dublin will play Munster runners up Waterford, in the quarter final of the All Ireland SFC on Saturday week, August 12th


Ten years have passed since the two team’s last meet in championship football. Back on the 28th of July 2007, Dublin defeated the Déise County by a single point in Dr Cullen Park, Carlow, FT score Dublin 3-09 Waterford 3-08. That same season Dublin exited the championship at the quarter final stage after shifting a heavy defeated to all conquering Cork side. Cork would later go on to defeat Mayo in the All- Ireland final of the same year, on a score-line of 2-11 to 2-06 to claim a historic three in a row. 


Dublin captain, Sinead Aherne and 2015 All Star, Sinead Finnegan are remaining Dublin survivors from that championship campaign of 2007 while Karen McGrath, Michelle McGrath, Michelle Ryan and Aileen Wall remain on duty for the Déise.  


Having enjoyed tremendous success at senior level (All Ireland champions 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995 and 1998) Waterford football hit hard times when the County found them-selves relegated to Intermediate level in 2008 following a disastrous championship campaign. 


It took Waterford seven years to return to top flight football. The Déise County endured heartache in two All- Ireland finals (2010 and 2012) before finally securing the Intermediate title in 2015 with a 3-14 to 0-10 victory over Kildare. 


This season, Waterford defeated both Kerry and Cork in the group stages of the Munster championship and where very unlucky not to go on to claim the provincial crown, losing the decider to Kerry by the narrowest of margins. 


Last weekend, the Déise girls carved out a late victory over Cavan in Clane to set up a meeting with Dublin in the quarter final. Aileen Wall the heroine on the day bagging a crucial goal deep into time added on to seal the win, FT Waterford 1-15 Cavan 1-13. 


Dublin and Waterford last competitive meeting came in the NFL campaign of 2011 when both teams were competing in division two. Dublin overcame the challenge of Waterford on that occasion (February 21st 2011), on a score line of 3-19 to 1-06. Dublin would go on to lift the division 2 title in May of that year. 


A number of players from that 2011 NFL winning side are now well established members of the Dublin senior panel, namely Sinead Goldrick, Sinead Aherne, Fiona Hudson, Lyndsey Davey and Sinead O’Mahony to name but a few.  


The 2017 clash of Dublin v Waterford will be shown live on TG4 on August 12th the winner will play either Kerry or Armagh in the All Ireland semi-final on August 26th.



Dublin starting XV (July 2007): Cliodhna O’Connor (Naomh Mearnog), Karen McGlynn (Skerries Harps), Denise Masterson (Ballymun Kickhams), Maria Kavanagh (Round Towers, C), Natalia Hyland (Ballyboden St Endas), Siobhan McGrath (Thomas Davis), Orla Colreavy (Naomh Mearnog), Fiona Corcoran (Ballyboden St Endas), Sinead Finnegan (Fingallians), Karen Hopkins (Ballyboden St Endas), Mary Nevin (Na Fianna), Amy McGuinness(Fingallians), Sinead Aherne (St Sylvesters), Louise Kelly (Ballyboden St Endas), Anne Marie Murphy (Foxrock Cabinteely). 

Dublin (Feb 2011): Cliodhna O’Connor (Naomh Mearnog), Siobhan McGrath (Thomas Davis), Sorcha Furlong (St Brigid's), Ailish McKenna (St Brigid's), Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely), Joanne O’Sullivan (Ballyboden St Endas), Gemma Fay (Ballyboden St Endas), Denise Masterson (Naomh Mearnog), Colleen Barrett (St Brigid's), Mary Nevin (Na Fianna), Amy McGuinness (Fingallians), Amy Ring (Foxrock Cabinteely), Olivia Leonard (St Maurs), Sinead Aherne (St Sylvesters), Elaine Kelly. Subs: Niamh McEvoy (Parnells) for Masterson, Fiona Hudson (Fingallians) for Fay, Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps) for Ring, Sinead O’Mahony (Skerries Harps) for McKenna, Amy Connolly (Foxrock Cabinteely) for Nevin.

Waterford starting XV (Feb 2011): Aimee Jordan, Karen McGrath, Grainne Enright, Dede Fahey, Louise Ryan, Anne Dunphy, Mary Foley, Michelle McGrath, Elaine Power, Mairéad Wall, Michelle Ryan, Aileen Wall, Trish Fitzgerald, Linda Wall, Nora Dunphy

AIG Ireland proud sponsors of Dublin LGFA