Match report: Dublin v Galway

  • Jun 04,2017

U14 All Ireland Semi-Final

FT Dublin 3-03 Galway 6-23

A dominant Galway blew Leinster Champions Dublin away today with an complete performance which saw the Tribeswomen book their place in 2017 decider, their first final appearance since 2010.

The girls from the West were outstanding in all sectors of the pitch and try as they might Dublin had no answer to the questions being asked of them.

Galway took a 14 point lead into the dressing room at half time as the scoreboard read Galway 3-09 Dublin 1-01.

Katie O'Sullivan netted Dublin's first goal in the 16th minute from the penalty spot while Ellen Power and Eva Noone where on target for the Connacht champions.

Galway's dominance continued in the second half despite the brave attempts by Dubs full back Aoife O'Sullivan and Lucy Crowe at centre back to quell the tide.

Special mention also to Dubs keeper Rugile Auskalnyte the girl from Erin's Isle who was outstanding between the posts throughout the game.

The impressive Kate Slevin, substitute Aoibheann Costello and Kara McClene netted for Galway in the second half while Dublin's Aisling O'Neill and Emma Howe breached the Galway defence to raise the green flag for the metropolitans.

Galway will play Kerry in the final on the first weekend in July following the Kingdoms 3-16 to 4-03 victory over Cavan today.  

Dublin: Rugile Auskalnyte, Erin Christie, Aoife O'Sullivan, Sophia Nyhan, Ali McCarthy, Lucy Crowe, Roisin Quigley, Ali Griffin, Aoibhin McCarthy, Ciara O'Connor, Eimear Mangan, Jennifer Hanrahan, Aisling O'Neill, Katie O'Sullivan, Emma Howe.

Subs: Ada Greene for Christie, Sarah Willis for Hanrahan, Ella Darcy for O'Connor, Aoife Coppinger for Quigley, Eva Ahern for O'Neill

Scorers: Katie O'Sullivan 1-00 (penalty), Emma Howe, Aisling O'Neill 1-00 each, Ciara O'Connor, Eimear Mangan, Jennifer Hanrahan 0-01 each

Galway: Roseanna Baile, Samantha Fahy, Emma Madden, Katelyn Mee, Kiara Kearney, Therese Kinnevey, Shauna Brennan, Ellen Power, Kara McCleane, Ilena Davoren, Verona Crowley, Chillene Trill, Eva Noone, Laura Kelly, Kate Slevin

Subs: Caoimhe Cleary for Fahy, Lucy Hynes for Davoren, Aoibheann Costello for Noone, Emily O'Connor for Kelly, Caroline Mitchell for Kearney

Scorers: Kate Slevin 1-08, Verona Crowley 0-08, Eva Noone 2-00, Ellen Power 1-03, Kara McCleane 1-01, Aoibheann Costello 1-00, Laura Kelly 0-02, Ilena Davoren 0-01

Referee: Ger Carmody (Mayo)